Jump over menu

State Secretary Peter Javorčík at the 19th EU – ASEAN Foreign Ministers Meeting

State Secretary Peter Javorčík at the 19th EU – ASEAN Foreign Ministers Meeting
  • 27.4.2012 | Aktivity štátnych tajomníkov | Slovensko a Európska únia | Brunej

On April 26-27, 2012, the 19th EU – ASEAN (the Association of Southeast Asian Nations) meeting of Foreign Ministers was held in Bandar Seri Begawan, the capital of the sultanate of Brunei Darussalam. Slovakia was represented by State Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Slovak Republic Peter Javorčík.

Mutual relations as well as the current results of cooperation between the EU and ASEAN countries were evaluated at the ministerial meeting while the main streams of future development were agreed based on the new Plan of Action. The partners exchanged their views on current topics in regional and international developments, energy security being one of them. State Secretary Javorčík informed the ministers about the steps and measures taken by the European Union and Slovakia in the area of energy security, including primarily the development of infrastructure, increasing energy efficiency, and efficient use of energy sources, including nuclear energy.

Currently the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) consists of 10 Member States: Brunei, Burma/Myanmar, the Philippines, Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. Together, ASEAN is the 5th largest business partner for the European Union, having recently achieved significant progress in its integration process. ASEAN has the aim to form a single market for its Member States by 2015.