## Answering the UN Secretary-General's Call on Gender-Based Violence and COVID-19

Statement by 136 UN Member States and Observers

We strongly support the appeal by United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres on Gender-Based Violence and COVID-19.

As more countries report infection and lockdown, domestic violence helplines and shelters across the world are reporting rising calls for help. Victims and survivors have no means of escape when violence occurs in the place they are being told to take shelter: at home.

More than ever, there needs to be zero tolerance for domestic violence. We commit to making prevention and redress of gender-based violence a key part of our national and global responses, including ensuring that information is available and that services are safely accessible.

We pay tribute to social and health workers, civil society organisations, as well as UN Women and other UN agencies for their important efforts to tackle this crisis.

Women are not just victims. They play a major role in the response against COVID-19. Nearly 70 per cent of frontline health and social workers are women. Women also shoulder a disproportionate share of unpaid care work and they are critical actors in the sustainable development of all countries.

We must therefore ensure women are included in all response and recovery decisions. This is the only way to "build back better" for everyone.

1.	Afghanistan	45.	Gambia	94.	Papua New
2.	Albania	46.	Georgia	Guinea	
3.	Andorra	47.	Germany	95.	Paraguay
4.	Angola	48.	Ghana	96.	Peru
5.	Antigua and	49.	Greece	97.	Philippines
	Barbuda	50.	Guatemala	98.	Poland
6.	Argentina	51.	Guinea	99.	Portugal
7.	Armenia	52.	Guyana	100.	Republic of Korea
8.	Australia	53.	Honduras	101.	Republic of

9. Austria		54.	Hungary	M	Moldova	
10	. Azerbaijan	55.	Iceland	102.	Romania	
11.	. Bahamas	56.	India	103.	Rwanda	
12	. Bangladesh	57.	Indonesia	104.	Samoa	
13.	. Belgium	58.	Ireland	105.	San Marino	
14.	_	59.	Israel	106.	Serbia	
15.	. Bolivia	60.	Italy	107.	Seychelles	
16	. Bosnia and	61.	Jamaica	108.	Sierra Leone	
	Herzegovina	62.	Japan	109.	Singapore	
17.	. Botswana	63.	Jordan	110.	Slovakia	
18	. Brazil	64.	Kazakhstan	111.	Slovenia	
19	. Bulgaria	65.	Kenya	112.	Solomon Islands	
20	. Burkina Faso	66.	Latvia	113.	South Africa	
21.	. Burundi	67.	Lebanon	114.	Spain	
22	. Canada	68.	Liberia	115.	Sri Lanka	
23	. Cabo Verde	69.	Liechtenstein	116.	Sudan	
24	. Chile	70.	Lithuania	117.	Suriname	
25	. China	71.	Luxembourg	118.	Eswatini	
26	. Colombia	72.	Malawi	119.	Switzerland	
27	Comoros	73.	Malaysia	120.	Sweden	
28	. Costa Rica	74.	Maldives	121.	Thailand	
29	. Côte d'Ivoire	75.	Mali	122.	Tonga	
30	. Croatia	76.	Malta	123.	Trinidad and	
31.	. Cyprus	77.	Marshall Islands	Tobago		
32	. Czech Republic	78.	Mauritius	124.	Tunisia	
33.	. Democratic	79.	Mexico	125.	Turkey	
	Republic of the	80.	Micronesia	126.	Tuvalu	
	Congo	(F	ederated States of)	127.	Uganda	
34	. Denmark	81.	Monaco	128.	Ukraine	
35	. Djibouti	82.	Mongolia	129.	United Kingdom	
36	. Dominican	83.	Montenegro	130.	United Republic of	
Republic		84.	Morocco	Ta	Tanzania	
37	. Ecuador	85.	Namibia	131.	Uruguay	
38.	. El Salvador	86.	North Macedonia	132.	Vanuatu	
39	. Equatorial	87.	Nepal	133.	Venezuela	
Guinea		88.	Netherlands	134.	Zambia	
40	. Estonia	89.	New Zealand	135.	State of Palestine	
41.	. Ethiopia	90.	Nigeria	136.	European Union	
42	. Fiji	91.	Norway			
43	. Finland	92.	Palau			

93.

Panama

France

44.