Lukáš Parízek: Slovakia will contribute to European Union’s security especially in the area of cyber-protection

Lukáš Parízek: Slovakia will contribute to European Union’s security especially in the area of cyber-protection

9.10.2017 | Aktivity štátnych tajomníkov

Deliberations of foreign ministers at their meeting in Warsaw on 9 October focused on joint procedures by the B9 countries in preparations for the 2018 NATO Summit, new security threats including cyber ones and tasks within NATO’s eastern and southern neighbourhood. The Slovak delegation was led by State Secretary Lukáš Parízek.


The Bucharest Nine, known as the B9, joins the countries of NATO’s eastern flank, the Visegrad Four, the Baltic Three, Romania and Bulgaria. It is a platform for action cooperation among the Alliance and the eastern flank countries and for addressing military conflicts, hybrid attacks, the refugee crisis and terror attacks.


The key message, unity within the Alliance and common procedures to counter the major threats of our times, is an important starting point for the 2018 NATO Summit. The B9 countries jointly form their expectations and especially their tasks within defence. “We confirmed increasing of our defence budget, we will continue our engagement in the Baltics and in building defence capacities in Iraq, and thereby build the European Union’s defence dimension,” noted State Secretary Parízek in Warsaw.


The Alliance’s key role in cyber defence is protecting the information and communication systems within the NATO structures and making sure that all member states collaborate. “Still, we do realize that the main responsibility for cyber security and defence is on the shoulders of member states. The primary role in every country is building and strengthening their national cyber capabilities across the entire spectrum and then we can use these for the needs of collective defence under NATO,” said Parízek to conclude his remarks.


The representatives of Slovakia, as members of the international taskforce, are making preparations to map out the situation in the Alliance’s member states to find out how ready they are to face hybrid threats. The next phase will be proposing solutions for adoption of a Union policy for this area.


Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Hungary, Poland, Romania and the Slovak Republic have been strengthening their collaboration under the B9 format since November 2015 when the presidents held their meeting and have been continuing since then through foreign ministerial meetings. At the November 2016 meeting held in Bucharest, declarations were adopted concerning the need to strengthen the military presence of NATO in the eastern flank, at the borders in Poland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. Subsequently, the results accomplished and activities taken in this area by the B9 formation have earned international recognition.


The outcome of the deliberations was adoption of a declaration whose message is a common perception of the security environment, including threats and expression of interest in active collaboration pending next year’s NATO Summit.