The Australian Group Experts Meeting in Bratislava

The Australian Group Experts Meeting in Bratislava

6.2.2020 | SR v medzinárodných organizáciách

On 5-6 February 2020, a meeting of experts of the Australian Group (AG) took place at the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs. The group works as a multilateral export control regime for the export of substances and technologies of double use. It has 43 affiliated members whose aim is to prevent the abuse of the substances for the manufacture of chemical and biological weapons of mass destruction. The aim of the meeting, which was attended by more than a hundred experts from the AG member states, was to share information and the latest knowledge on chemical and biological substances and technologies of double use, including the control of exports to the states that are not members of the Australian Group.

In her remarks, Karla Wusterová, Director General of the DG for International Organisations, Development Assistance and Humanitarian Aid of the MZVEZ SR, emphasized that Slovakia, in the long-term, considers the spread of weapons of mass destruction and their delivery systems to be one of the most serious security challenges. She also expressed concern with regards to the fact that despite the existence of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC), these prohibited substances were recently used in the world, including in Europe. She emphasized the essential support of the Slovak Republic for the Organisation for Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) in the context of the attempts to cast doubts on the impartial and professional activities of this organisation carried out as part of its mandate to verify compliance with the international prohibition of chemical weapons.

The Slovak Republic has been trying, for a long time, to contribute to the joint effort to prevent the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction by bringing in its expertise. Also, by organising this meeting of experts, the Slovak Republic has expressed its support for the Australian Group, of which it has been a member since 1994.