For the proper operation of the portal you need to have javascript is enabled in your browser.

Skip to Content


Slovakia is part of the Schengen area in which the rules of free movement of persons, goods, services and capital apply. People may freely travel around this area without any border checks at internal borders of Schengen Member States. The Schengen Member States also apply a uniform visa policy regime.

Members of the Schengen area: Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, the Netherlands, Iceland, Lithuania, Lichtenstein, Latvia, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Germany, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Austria, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Swiss Confederation, Sweden and Italy.

Short term stay

Short term stay in the Schengen area is a stay for tourism, study or business purposes (strictly non paid) not exceeding total of 90 days in any 180-day period. For long term stay see „Residence in Slovakia“. The third country national himself is responsible to calculate the number of days spent on the Schengen territory so that the rule „90 days in any 180-day period“ is respected. If the rule is not respected, he will not be allowed to enter the Schengen territory.

A short stay calculator is available on the link of the European Commission website 

Visa free entry for short term stay

The Israeli citizens, holders of valid Israeli national passport with a validity that exceeds the intended stay by at least 3 months, do not need a visa for short term stay in Schengen area, but must follow the rule of max 90 days stay in any 180-day period (for definition see above). For other nationalities traveling to Slovakia/Schengen please contact the Embassy.

Types of visas

Schengen visa type A: airport transit visa
Authorizes the bearer to enter the international zone of the airport and to remain there until the time of the departure of the flight to the destination country.

Schengen visa type C: uniform short stay visa 
The visa entitles its holder to enter and stay in the Schengen area for not more than a total of 90 days in any 180-day period. This visa may be issued for one, two or multiple entries.

National visa type D
National visa may be issued in relation to the granted residence permit or in connection with Slovakia´s commitments under international treaties or for the benefit of the Slovak Republic. It allows holders to travel to other member states (outside the frontier of the state who issued the visa).


When and how to apply for a visa

The visa application procedure may take up to 15 days. Therefore, you should file your application well in advance.

Personal appearance while submitting the application is required. All applicants are asked to arrange their appointment in advance on the email address

The applicants for Schengen visa are required to provide biometric data (fingerprints) when submitting the application. The biometric data of persons applying for a Schengen visa will be stored in a new Visa Information System (VIS). 


Application for Schengen visa

1. Filled in pdf Application for Schengen Visa  (pdf; 561.02 KB)  


2. One recent colour passport size photo


3. Passport or official travel document issued with a validity that exceeds the intended stay of the applicant by at least 3 months. 


4. PROOF OF ACCOMMODATION - Evidence of hotel bookings or Voucher issued by a travel agency verifying payment of services 


5. TRAVEL ITINERARY – flight ticket reservation or trip outline issued by the travel agency


6. Document demonstrating PURPOSE OF STAY – invitation letter, if applicable


7. PROOF OF SUFFICIENT FINANCIAL MEANS FOR THE INTENDED STAY - Personal bank account statement(s) during the last 3 months. The statements must show the name and address of the owner; or Proof of regular income (such as pay slips of the last 3 months);
or letter stating that all expenses will be fully covered by third person or company 


8. TRAVEL INSURANCE - Confirmation of travel medical insurance issued by the insurance company covering all costs that may arise during stay in Schengen area in connection with any urgent medical care and/or emergency treatment in the hospital including potential medical repatriation or death.
The travel insurance must be valid for all Schengen member states and the entire length of the applicant’s stay. A minimum insurance coverage of 30,000 EUR is required.


For minors (children under the age of 18) travelling without or with only one parent a written consent from the parent or legal guardian who is not traveling with the minor (certified by a Notary public) is required. If there is only one custodian, document confirming this fact is required (e.g. a birth certificate, death certificate, court decision on sole custody, etc.).


For processing the visa application a fee in the amount of 60 EUR is charged /35 EUR for a child of age from 6 to 12 years/. Visa fees are paid in NIS and vary depending on the current exchange rate. The fee is payable in cash only. Credit cards are NOT ACCEPTED. Visa fees are not-refundable. In the case of a visa refusal the fee will not be reimbursed.

For processing of the visa application by citizens of the Republic of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Serbia, Russian Federation and Ukraine, fee in the amount of 35 EUR (payment in NIS according to actual exchange rate) is charged. 

Last Update Date: 14.11.2018 Create Date: 12.9.2006